A one pot dinner and no photo!

Standard

Almost… Today I asked some family over for lunch and wondered what to make. It’s darn well freezing here and so I decided a hot lunch would be the way to go. Last night I saw what I thought might be a nice recipe on a TV show but I changed it to suit.
Soak either red beans or borlotti beans overnight in water. About 200 gm
Some chopped vegetables. Carrot, Onion, celery squash potato… 2 of each. The usual winter vegetables.
Fennel seeds… about a tablespoon full.
Thyme.. 5-6 fresh sprigs.
5-6 fresh peeled tomatoes or a small tin of crushed peeled tomatoes.
Either 2 cups of broccoli, or 1/4 of a small cabbage sliced.
Spanish chorizo.. Spanish sausage. 4 of them sliced into chunks.
Garlic… about 2-3 cloves.
Olive oil for cooking and to make the bread Brusscetta.
Boil the beans then simmer for about an hour then set aside.

In another pot..(I really used about 3 pots and many, many bowls…)
Cook off the chopped vegetables in the oil until just tender. Add tomatoes, herbs, garlic, fennel seeds and sausage. Might need to add a little water to prevent it from burning on the bottom of the pan. Simmer for 20-25 minutes.
When this is done, add the beans and cook for another 10-15 minutes. Serve in individual bowls or in a large serving dish
with a little grated cheese over the top. Fresh Parmesan cheese or whatever you like.
Get some nice thick slices of any bread or roll and cut in half and toast the slices.
Crush a garlic clove or two and add a few tablespoons of olive oil. Mix well and sprinkle over the toasted bread.

I asked my girl to come and get her dinner as we had enough left over from lunch for her to have it for her tea, then when I went to get my camera I had to quickly change the batteries. When I got back there was nothing left in the bowl but a bit of the juice so I’m sorry there was no photo! It was really nice though.
Nothing left!

About thingirlsrus

Registered Nurse. Clinical Lecturer. Author. Really nice person. I am a weight loss expert believe it or not. Personally I don't care if you believe me or not. I just wrote the most wonderful book on how to lose weight without constantly shoving your hand in your pocket buying products which by the way don't work. Believe it or not but my little dogs 'Lovey' and 'Boo' helped me to discover the most simple and easy way to do it and it's something I had never thought of doing. I absolutely love information. I love true stories and I'm interested in you too. Everyone has a story to tell. Marilyn xxx

Leave a Reply

