I have been accused of being an upstanding citizen in my community and my job?????

Standard

Seems funny but that is how I felt. It was like an accusation. I was talking to a young person who had a few problems and I was trying to explain the choices there are to be made in life. Two roads… One road takes you to a life of secrecy, distrust, no meaningful relationships, dishonest dealings, having to look behind you wherever you go, a bad name and all the rest which goes without saying…
The other road is an easy road to take.. remembering to not break the law (it’s there to protect us), but to be honest and transparent in all your dealings with everyone. It’s not hard at all but it’s a good feeling.

Her response to me was, ‘Oh it’s ok for you, you are a repsected member in your community and in your job’ and so on and so on…
I said to her, ‘honey, it takes years of certain behaviours for people to realise you have integrity, you are an honest person, you can be trusted etc..’ ‘It doesn’t happen overnight, but I’ve always tried to be like that anyway.’

Maybe it was the way she said it…I’m not perfect… not by any means. Sometimes I explode! Sometimes I might let the bad words slip but that makes me human too. Ok so I don’t drink except for the half glass of wine at Christmas and the other half at New Year. I will make an exception but if I do have a drink it is because I really do feel like one. I have one and that’s it. I like to know I’m still in control and if there is an emergency I am still able to deal with it, not have to apologise because I’m a drunk, blithering mess!

Oh, I’m sorry your honour, I was too drunk to do anything! Ha! Never. I would be so ashamed of that behaviour. It doesn’t make me a ‘goody two shoes’ either. It just makes me a responsible person. I like to know people can trust me with their children and I can be trusted to be there if needed. I couldn’t imagine anyone thinking I am a drunk or a druggie who can’t be relied upon or trusted.
I have always kept in the back of my mind… ‘don’t do anything my mother would be ashamed of’
Now I wonder what this young person thinks of me???? Hope it sunk in and she got something from it…

About thingirlsrus

Registered Nurse. Clinical Lecturer. Author. Really nice person. I am a weight loss expert believe it or not. Personally I don't care if you believe me or not. I just wrote the most wonderful book on how to lose weight without constantly shoving your hand in your pocket buying products which by the way don't work. Believe it or not but my little dogs 'Lovey' and 'Boo' helped me to discover the most simple and easy way to do it and it's something I had never thought of doing. I absolutely love information. I love true stories and I'm interested in you too. Everyone has a story to tell. Marilyn xxx

Leave a Reply

