Please Pass it on!

Standard

In my car driving around doing my shopping and business bits I saw a man walking his dog. Oh how lovely you might think.
BUT…..This was 2 oclock in the afternoon and it is quite hot here in Adelaide.
I slowed my car to a crawl and watched the poor dog run from shady tree to shady tree and each time he got to the shade he stopped and took a rest if only for a short time, then he would run to the next tree and do the same. The dog was dragging his owner to each tree.

The concrete underfoot is about 5 degrees hotter than up where we are and where we feel it, so this poor dog was dehydrating by the minute. Tongue hanging out, panting, peeing at each post and tree, losing fluid by the bucket full. The owner didn’t have a bowl or any water to give his dog a few laps as he went and this distressed me. The dog could have passed out and died before he got home.

It’s so important to care for your pets in the heat and don’t forget, they wear fur coats too. How would you like to be out on a hot day, running around the block with no water and wearing a fur coat???

Please, please, take a small bowl and some water so your pet is able to have a few sips of fluid as he/she goes ad let them rest under the shade of a tree for a minute to help cool them off. Don’t let them drink too much or they will become sick and vomit, cramps etc…
If you have ever watched a marathon run then you will have seen the marathon runners grab a cup of fluid from the assistants who stand by the road. They will take a mouthful and throw the rest (sometimes it lands on the person who doesn’t expect it). They don’t drink too much but they do keep up their fluid intake.

Your pets need the same consideration.
Next thing is to please don’t take your pets out in the middle of the day in the heat. Early in the morning before the sun is at it’s worst or later in the day or evening when things are cooling down.
Before you take your pets out, go outside and take off your shoes. Stand on the concrete for a minute and see how hot it is. If it isn’t hot, then it will be ok for your pet.

I have included this in the chapter in my book for pets too.
if you see anyone walking their dog in the heat, please inform them of the risks involved for their beloved pet. They might just thank you.

http://www.marilynsplanforweightloss.com.au

Give your pets a hug from me. xxx

About thingirlsrus

Registered Nurse. Clinical Lecturer. Author. Really nice person. I am a weight loss expert believe it or not. Personally I don't care if you believe me or not. I just wrote the most wonderful book on how to lose weight without constantly shoving your hand in your pocket buying products which by the way don't work. Believe it or not but my little dogs 'Lovey' and 'Boo' helped me to discover the most simple and easy way to do it and it's something I had never thought of doing. I absolutely love information. I love true stories and I'm interested in you too. Everyone has a story to tell. Marilyn xxx

Leave a Reply

