Want to get your book to Oprah?

Standard

Don’t get too excited about it at least until your epic is finished. Then again getting a book past her army of ‘people’ is something only the very brave and determined might even attempt. Oprah likes things which are spiritual and highly emotive and I don’t think she is interested in the day to day lives of the rest of us. I can tell you from experience. My book went as far as one of her staff and I didn’t even get a thank you.

So before you get too excited about your book and where you will send it, you need to finish it and have it ready to go to print. Have you had it edited by a professional? It needs to be set out by a printer or someone who knows how it needs to be formatted = 3mm bleed etc…
If you don’t know what I mean by that then go and do some homework. Ask a printer what it’s about and why. You may just want to sell online. That’s another story which I will fill you in on later.

'Daisee' my assistant wearing a Charlie Sheen hat.

Do you have a business name? Is it registered? Do you understand about ‘copyright?’ This is the time you need to start saving for advertising too. It’s expensive. There are two ways to advertise. Online or TV. More about that later as well. If you think I am just giving you some basic ideas about writing then you are so right. There is a lot to do and you need to make sure you have your book mapped out, chapter by chapter and to be halfway through writing it before you are ready to begin outlaying money. It could take you 2 years to write the book. If you have the time it could take a few weeks. It all depends on what you are writing about as well.

I knew exactly what I was writing about. I had a fabulous, new and unique way to lose weight and I wrote it in a few weeks.
I re-wrote it again and again too. Then I did a re-write to add a chapter on overweight pets and added a few recipes given to me by a friend. The Plan in my book has always stayed the same. Unlike other weight loss programs and diets, my Plan cannot be improved. I laugh when I see or hear about how there is a new improved weight loss program by the big diet companies. Does that mean they got it wrong the first time? Hmmm sounds like it. So I could be well within my rights to ask for my money back as it didn’t work when I tried their old way. hahaha

So get it right the first time. if you have a trusted friend, it would be good for you to give a few chapters to them and ask them for feedback. You must also make them promise to be totally honest with you otherwise you are wasting your money and your time. Don’t be scared of criticism. It will help you in the end. After all what are you writing the book for?
Until next time…. Keep at it and don’t worry about Oprah. Let her get her own books.
xxx

About thingirlsrus

Registered Nurse. Clinical Lecturer. Author. Really nice person. I am a weight loss expert believe it or not. Personally I don't care if you believe me or not. I just wrote the most wonderful book on how to lose weight without constantly shoving your hand in your pocket buying products which by the way don't work. Believe it or not but my little dogs 'Lovey' and 'Boo' helped me to discover the most simple and easy way to do it and it's something I had never thought of doing. I absolutely love information. I love true stories and I'm interested in you too. Everyone has a story to tell. Marilyn xxx

Leave a Reply

