Believing in fate.

Standard

I do believe in fate. At work this evening and about half an hour before the end of the shift the night RN calls in to say she will be a few minutes late. Ok, that’s fine. I wasn’t in a hurry to go although at 11 oclock at night home looks really nice after a shift from hell. I got in my car after I handed over and drove out the driveway, turned left and drove the short distance to the end of the street which ran into a main road. There was a car on the pavement all smashed up and a smaller car turned on it’s side. About 25 people were milling around. We RN’s aren’t supposed to leave an accident unless we see if there is someone else qualified to take care of the sick and injured so I slowed down. Low and behold a huge ambulance, lights and sirens flashing and screaming came to a halt right in front of me and blocked my exit from the street to the road. Thank goodness for that! The ambos were there and I could continue on my way.

As I turned the corner slowly so as to avoid the broken glass and people running everywhere, I had a chilling thought which haunted me for some time after. That could have been me! If the night shift RN had turned up on time, I could have been custard. Thank goodness for the size of my car. A gorgeous Holden commodore. It would have saved me from the worst. The small car was a complete writeoff and the larger car was smashed to bits at the front. Not a nice thing to think about.

So when you are stressing over something which didn’t come to pass, remember, it didn’t happen because it wasn’t supposed to. It wasn’t the right time for you. I could go on and on about the experiences I’ve had with fate and I am a true devotee of the fatalist attitude. Oh well, it wasn’t for me! Things happen in the order they are supposed to!

About thingirlsrus

Registered Nurse. Clinical Lecturer. Author. Really nice person. I am a weight loss expert believe it or not. Personally I don't care if you believe me or not. I just wrote the most wonderful book on how to lose weight without constantly shoving your hand in your pocket buying products which by the way don't work. Believe it or not but my little dogs 'Lovey' and 'Boo' helped me to discover the most simple and easy way to do it and it's something I had never thought of doing. I absolutely love information. I love true stories and I'm interested in you too. Everyone has a story to tell. Marilyn xxx

Leave a Reply

