Selling Books

Standard

If you are an author and have a book you want to sell then what have you done about selling and advertising it? If you have it in a bookshop then how long will it be there. Bookshops could be a thing of the past but isn’t this trend dictated by online sellers such as amazon and fishpond? Sure they will take your book and sell it for you but at a cost and when I looked into the pros and cons of selling it via these sites I decided against it. Want to know why?

Their refund policy gives the buyer the chance to read the book whether it be hard copy, paperback or ebook and then sending it back and receiving a refund. No questions asked. So in doing that, who gets paid? Not us authors that’s for sure. The booksellers take a cut of your selling price in a number of ways.

Then when the book is returned, the booksellers keep their cut and you get what is left minus the payment for the book which accounts to zero. Then you have a second hand book to get rid of. So in all it doesn’t pay to sell via a book seller online. All you end up with are books which have been read and returned. After all your hard work is that fair? No it’s not. My suggestion is to make sure you have a website and sell it yourself. Do some advertising on google adwords and link your website to other sites.

Great for People and Pets too!

Don’t create a product for others to make money from, leaving you with nothing. Check their terms and conditions. I think it’s bloody cheeky to do this to any authors so bugger them. I will sell my book myself via my own website. I did all the hard work and spent all the money and I’m not about to hand it over to anyone else. I will promote bookshops and libraries too. They did very well before the greed took over and the dictators decided to put them out of business.

So if you’re interested, go to my website and have a look at it for your own benefit. It’s under a bit of construction some days as I do make a few changes but you will get the idea. Keep it simple sweetie… KISS.

About thingirlsrus

Registered Nurse. Clinical Lecturer. Author. Really nice person. I am a weight loss expert believe it or not. Personally I don't care if you believe me or not. I just wrote the most wonderful book on how to lose weight without constantly shoving your hand in your pocket buying products which by the way don't work. Believe it or not but my little dogs 'Lovey' and 'Boo' helped me to discover the most simple and easy way to do it and it's something I had never thought of doing. I absolutely love information. I love true stories and I'm interested in you too. Everyone has a story to tell. Marilyn xxx

Leave a Reply

