Don’t enter online competitions.

Standard

I made the mistake of entering a website (a reputable one I will say) on a day when nothing was happening and I was a bit bored. The website is chokkers with competions and free trial offers and I thought, It looks harmeless enough. BIG MISTAKE!

Not long after that I began receiving all this spam from companies who I have nothing to do with and have never heard of before and most if not all of them are from another country. All offering services and such.

Has the penny dropped yet??? Yes the original company where I signed up had very small print to state they could do what they want with my email address, so that meant the offers are probably fake as I would have to wait to be selected to trial the items. All the company wants is your email address so they can sell it to other companies. This is big money to some and nothing but trouble to others.

I did this 2 days ago and now my email address is full of unwanted spam. Very hard to get rid of it because they don’t have an unsubscribe button and if they do I am redirected to a page which my security states it could put my computer at risk. I then have to email them to tell them to remove me from their mailing list or face legal action.

All this because I was bored and probably a little tired. So when you go to a site which claims to offer you wonderful things, look for a declaration which states they will not use your email address for anything else and they will not disclose it to other companies. Otherwise your email address is just being passed around and sold and re sold which in turn will have your inbox full of unwanted spam.

I have a website and I promise I will NEVER collect anyone’s info to be sold or passed onto anyone else. I think this should be outlawed as it is the most frustrating thing to have to clean up. As good as the offer might be , check in the terms and conditions box. The items you are interested in are probably fake as well. They just want your email address to sell.
Marilyn xxx

About thingirlsrus

Registered Nurse. Clinical Lecturer. Author. Really nice person. I am a weight loss expert believe it or not. Personally I don't care if you believe me or not. I just wrote the most wonderful book on how to lose weight without constantly shoving your hand in your pocket buying products which by the way don't work. Believe it or not but my little dogs 'Lovey' and 'Boo' helped me to discover the most simple and easy way to do it and it's something I had never thought of doing. I absolutely love information. I love true stories and I'm interested in you too. Everyone has a story to tell. Marilyn xxx

Leave a Reply

