Cardiac Arrest and Exercise!!!

Standard

My goodness. I was reading how one of the Trainers on Australia’s ‘Biggest Loser’ was making a statement on how she was very concerned about the amount of exercise these obese people were doing on the show and for every hour of exercise we saw the contestants doing, they actually did about 100 hours of exercise. One of the comments made by somebody else in the comments box said how most of these contestants put all the weight back on and more after they left the show. Doesn’t make for a sustainable program in either sense does it?

I do remember watching some of the shows and making comments like ‘Oh my god, these people are at risk of a Cardiac Event.’ I could see the stress placed on their Hearts by all the exercise they were doing and it made my skin crawl. I watched a young woman who exercised so much in the beginning she vomited. Do you know why? I will tell you. The Heart sends Blood to the Brain and will protect it. The most important job is for the Heart to do this and it doesn’t want to have to allow for the food in the Stomach to be broken down to be distributed as nourishment. The Stomach will empty (Vomiting). That’s why when your Mother tells you not to go swimming too soon after eating you should believe her. Paddling in the water is fine but no strenuous exercise or you will vomit.

Reminds me of a group of kids at the Aquatic Centre in Adelaide last summer. They were all at a Birthday Party and had all the sugary drinks, cakes, lollies, chips and Hotdogs they could eat. A few minutes after they ate, they were all in the Pool. Two minutes after that, one of the little girls was vomiting. She had been having so much fun before the food by way of the strenuous activities the Pool attendant had organised, her stomach was ready to empty before she even ate the food. eeew! Yes we left immediately.

For crying out loud. Fair suck of the Sav!!! What on earth are these programs doing? Having Doctors and Trainers etc on the set does absolutely nothing to prevent these people from having a Heart attack. They would still have to call an Ambulance and wait for it to come and give CPR. So, where does that leave the silly contestant who is either writhing in agony from the horrendous chest pain they are suffering or taking their last breath while someone gets ready to give them CPR.

It leaves them out in the cold! I have been screaming about this too. Why hasn’t someone done something about it. This trainer even said the contestants are getting bigger. Are they bringing in Elephants?

There is no way on this Earth I would expect anyone with a weight problem to do this kind of exercise. It is taking ownership for stupidity. On My Plan, I tell people to do some form of exercise but the ones I have suggested are quite different and for only a couple of minutes. Most people don’t have time for exercise I agree but you must do a little bit. If you follow My Plan and do the exercises I have mentioned in my book, then you will be quite happy to do it. It all fits in together with My Plan and My Plan MAKES SENSE!

Oh, and I don’t believe in Pounding the Pavement either. If you are overweight then your joints are at risk of serious damage from all the jolting and jamming. No matter how expensive your shoes are. I know skinny people who have had knee replacements and have only ever walked for their exercise. All I can say is take it easy on your body and don’t over do it!!!

About thingirlsrus

Registered Nurse. Clinical Lecturer. Author. Really nice person. I am a weight loss expert believe it or not. Personally I don't care if you believe me or not. I just wrote the most wonderful book on how to lose weight without constantly shoving your hand in your pocket buying products which by the way don't work. Believe it or not but my little dogs 'Lovey' and 'Boo' helped me to discover the most simple and easy way to do it and it's something I had never thought of doing. I absolutely love information. I love true stories and I'm interested in you too. Everyone has a story to tell. Marilyn xxx

Leave a Reply

